Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2021: Celebrating Scotland's Music for 35 Years

See our £6 Stock Clearance titles, available for a limited time only.

cover image for The McCalmans - The Ettrick Shepherd

Tracks: McLean’s Welcome * Donald MacDonald * The Witch of Fife * Bonnie Prince Charlie * King Willie * I Ha’e Naebody Now * The Highlander’s Farewell * Sir Morgan O’Doherty’s Farewell to Scotland/Reply To Sir Morgan * The Moon Was A-Waning * Ladies Evening Song * Rise! Rise! Lowland and Highland Men * Good Night And Joy.

This is a collection of songs by James Hogg, ‘The Ettrick Shepherd’ (1770 to 1835).

Previously released by Greenwich Village Records and later purchased by Greentrax Recordings and re-released in 1991, this album has the original McCalmans’ line-up of Ian McCalman (vocals, guitar, organ, Olde English guitar, harmonica, bowed psaltery), Hamish Bayne (vocals, concertina, whistle, mandolin, banjo), and Derek Moffat (vocals, guitar, bodhran).

A collector’s piece.

Listen online

If you have an account with one of these other music sites, login to stream or download samples or full tracks.

The McCalmans - The Ettrick Shepherd at Apple Music

The McCalmans - The Ettrick Shepherd at Spotify

The McCalmans - The Ettrick Shepherd at Deezer

More The McCalmans

search Google for The McCalmans


We accept PayPal and all major credit and debit cards.

Monthly Newsletter

enter your email address:

You can easily unsubscribe here, or by using the link in any message, or by contacting us. Greentrax are clear and transparent about what data we collect from you, in line with GDPR guidelines. Read our Privacy Policy. By submitting this form you consent to Greentrax using your contact details to send monthly email updates on new releases and special offers. View all of our previous newsletters.

New Releases

Latest News

see all News





Top Sellers

all titles listed by release date

full catalogue listed by category

view or download full colour catalogue May 2021 (pdf)

view or download text catalogue March 2021 (pdf)

visit Greentrax on Facebook