Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2021: Celebrating Scotland's Music for 35 Years

See our £6 Stock Clearance titles, available for a limited time only.

cover image for No. 1 Scottish - Traditional Music From The RSAMD
Save £6.00 (50%)
in stock
despatch same working day

special offer Christmas & New Year Special Offer - SAVE 15% on ANY THREE OR MORE ITEMS in one order - that's £1.80 off every standard CD.
Applies to all products except special offer and stock clearance titles. Offer ends January 2nd 2022. Free postage within UK, international postage charges apply.

15 tracks: The Dowie Dens o’ Yarrow (Emily Smith) * A Mhairead Og (James Graham) * Fhir a Chinn Duibh (Ishbel Munro) * Sailin’s a Wearie Life (Fiona Hunter) * Hielan’ Laddie (Findlay Napier and Gillian Frame) * The Brides and The Tartars Set * For Meg of Abernethy Set * Liam’s Bonnet Set * Da Burn o’ Cousta * Whistle O’er The Lave O’t.

Listen online

If you have an account with one of these other music sites, login to stream or download samples or full tracks.

No. 1 Scottish - Traditional Music From The RSAMD at Apple Music

No. 1 Scottish - Traditional Music From The RSAMD at Spotify

No. 1 Scottish - Traditional Music From The RSAMD at Deezer

No. 1 Scottish - Traditional Music From The RSAMD

This album was first released by the RSAMD as a limited edition in 2002, and includes many of the top students at the Academy at that time, plus their tutors.

The students are Liam Brown, Neil Cameron, Stuart Cassells, Kirsty Cotter, Dominique Dodge, Gillian Frame, James Graham, Kathleen Graham, Steven Graham, Claire Gullan, Fiona Hunter, Lisa Morrison, Calum MacCrimmon, Lorna MacDougall, Malcolm McEwan, Darren MacLean, Angus MacPhail, Maeve MacKinnon, Andrew MacPherson, Rosie Morton, Ian Muir, Ishbel Munro, Findlay Napier, Sarah Parker, Alan Paterson, Jennifer Port, Jenna Reid, Emily Smith, Fraya Thomsen and Lori Watson.

Many of these talented young people have gone on to establish themselves as professionals on the Scottish music scene, and have since recorded solo or with bands - Fiona Hunter as a member of Malinky, and Stuart Cassells, Gillian Frame and Emily Smith as winners of the Young Scottish Traditional Musician of the Year Award.

The tutors are Brian McNeill (fiddle) - who also produced the album - Rob MacKillop (lute), James Ross (piano), Kenna Campbell (vocals), Karen Marshalsay (harps), Calum Ross (vocals), Mike Travis (percussion) and John Wallace (trumpet).