Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2021: Celebrating Scotland's Music for 35 Years

See our £6 Stock Clearance titles, available for a limited time only.

cover image for The Haddington Pipe Band - The Haddington Turnpike

14 tracks: Leaving Port Askaig / Farewell To The Creeks * Loch Ruan Set * The Green Hills Of Tyrol Set * The Piper’s Waltz / Cork Hill * The Haddington Turnpike Set * Lau Baum * The Drunken Piper Set * Going To Pitlochry Set * Highland Cathedral * Pipe Major J K Cairns / Kilworth Hills * Scotland The Brave Set * Itchy Fingers * Sarah’s Song * The Freedom Come All Ye.

And Other Great Pipe Tunes

The Haddington Pipe Band was formed in 1981, very much as a community band, and that ethos, championed by Pipe Major David Leckie and their honorary president Bill Bradford (two of the original founders), remains their guiding principle.

The band, based in Haddington, East Lothian, does not take part in competitions but focus on local community and charity events - galas, festivals and such like. 2011 is the 30th Anniversary of the band, which has strong links with Haddington’s twin town in France, Aubigny-sur-Nere.

What drives the band is a love of pipe band music, so as well as playing, many of the members spend time teaching piping and drumming to youngsters (and others not so young). A feature of the band is the regular introduction of young pipers and drummers into their ranks, many of them sons, daughters and sisters of existing band members.

In 2009 the band held a competition to find a pipe ‘anthem’ for East Lothian which Greentrax was involved in. Ian Green was so impressed with the organisation of this project and the community work undertaken by the band that he nominated the Haddington Pipe Band for the ‘Pipe Band Of The Year’ category of the Scots Trad Music Awards 2009. The band won the category.

Late in 2010 Ian Green was again involved with the band when they launched a ‘piping’ calendar for 2011. Ian learned the band would celebrate its 30th Anniversary in 2011 and he felt it appropriate to invite the band to record an album. This was achieved in September 2011, when once again the preparation and organisation for the recording by both band and committee was impeccable. The ‘Haddington Turnpike’, composed by Dr Bruce Thomson, was the winning entry of the 2009 tune-writing competition, assuring its inclusion on the album and in its title.

Caitlin Bruce, a drummer in the band, plays clarsach on one track while Coreen Scott (vocals) and Jim Wilson (accordion) guest on other tracks. The Pipe Sergeant is Fraser Wilkinson and the Drum Sergeant is Gavin McDougall. The recording team consisted of Peter Haigh, Richard Werner and Liam Morrison. Gavin McDougall and Richard Werner assisted Peter Haigh with the mastering.

Listen online

If you have an account with one of these other music sites, login to stream or download samples or full tracks.

The Haddington Pipe Band - The Haddington Turnpike at Apple Music

The Haddington Pipe Band - The Haddington Turnpike at Spotify

The Haddington Pipe Band - The Haddington Turnpike at Deezer

More The Haddington Pipe Band

search Google for The Haddington Pipe Band


We accept PayPal and all major credit and debit cards.

Monthly Newsletter

enter your email address:

You can easily unsubscribe here, or by using the link in any message, or by contacting us. Greentrax are clear and transparent about what data we collect from you, in line with GDPR guidelines. Read our Privacy Policy. By submitting this form you consent to Greentrax using your contact details to send monthly email updates on new releases and special offers. View all of our previous newsletters.

New Releases

Latest News

see all News





Top Sellers

all titles listed by release date

full catalogue listed by category

view or download full colour catalogue May 2021 (pdf)

view or download text catalogue March 2021 (pdf)

visit Greentrax on Facebook