Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2021: Celebrating Scotland's Music for 35 Years

See our £6 Stock Clearance titles, available for a limited time only.

cover image for Duncan McCrone - Land Of Gold
in stock
despatch same working day

​13 tracks: Land Of Gold * If Wishes Were Fishes * The Song Of The Skylark * Run, Run, Run * Honeymoon Bridge * The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face * The Pioneers * My Eldorado * Resurrection Road (A Clydeside Carol) * Magic Shadow Show * My Old Man * Harbour Wall * The Surf And The Silver Fishes.

Duncan McCrone is a Glasgow-based singer-songwriter whose musical CV goes right back to the early Seventies, when he joined Hot Toddy, with Billy Ross (of Ossian fame) and Cy Jack, who has been his song-writing partner and fellow musician in virtually every musical venture since. A five-year period with folk-rock band Dapplegrim followed, with Duncan then embarking on a ‘ludicrous pop career’ (he says) under the name Duncan Aran, releasing a couple of singles.

In the true tradition of the failed pop idol, Duncan spent a couple of years playing bass guitar in covers bands before joining the well-established folk and popular band The Clydesiders in 1982. Duncan stayed with The Clydesiders for eighteen years, until the band called it a day in 2000, however during this time he and Cy had been developing their song-writing and branched into writing and recording music for film and TV with their production company Ranza Music.

In 2001 Duncan signed to the Glasgow label Downtown Records, and under the name Duncan McCrone & The Tron Band a live album, recorded at Glasgow’s Tron Theatre - Just A Glasgow Boy - was released.

This was followed in 2006 with a studio album All You Need To Know, co-produced by Bay City Roller Stuart ‘Woody’ Wood, then in 2012 Duncan recorded his third album, Colourblind. Duncan and The Duncan McCrone Band are now well established in the Scottish folk scene but Duncan prefers to think of it as the ‘Duncan and Cy Band’, although they go out often as a trio of Duncan, Cy, Jim Yule and/or Stevie Lawrence.

Land Of Gold is Duncan’s first album for Greentrax, who welcome him warmly to the fold. The tracks include: Land Of Gold, featuring the wonderful Gaelic singer Kathleen MacInnes, about a girl who left the Hebrides to seek her fortune in Canada’s Yukon Valley; If Wishes Were Fishes, an Eric Bogle song loved by Ian Green’s wife June Green, to whom Duncan has dedicated the song; The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face, the stunning love song written by Ewan MacColl; The Pioneers, a song inspired by the story of Bashir Ahmad, Scotland’s first Asian MSP; My Eldorado, a lament for a life unfulfilled and full of regrets; Matt McGinn’s classic Magic Shadow Show; Resurrection Road (aka A Clydeside Carol), with a featured vocal by the legendary singer-songwriter Rab Noakes; My Old Man, Ewan MacColl’s poignant observation of the effects of advancing technology on the lives of craftsmen and their families; The Song of The Skylark, an amazing account of one of the ‘brave little ships’, which alone saved 660 souls from the Dunkirk beaches; The Surf and The Silver Fishes, a song inspired by the loss of the Carradale trawler Antares which was sunk in a tragic incident off Arran in 1990. This is a brand-new version featuring just Duncan, plus Chris Stout’s wonderful piano arrangement; plus more tracks.

Despite this being Duncan’s fourth ‘solo’ album, he’s very aware indeed that it belongs just as much to his co-writer and life-long friend Cy Jack, who co-wrote the original songs, and was de facto musical director on this project, but couldn’t be persuaded to share the (ahem) ‘limelight’ with Duncan.

Duncan has always had a philosophy of working only with his friends, who just happen to be some of the finest musicians in Scotland and the North of England, and without exception they have given far more than 100% in helping make this Duncan’s finest album to date. On Land Of Gold, the honorary ‘Tron Band’ are:

Duncan McCrone (vocals, guitar), Cy Jack (bass guitar, double bass, keyboards, vocals), Jim Yule (guitar, vocals), Stevie Lawrence (bouzouki, guitar, bodhran, mandola, percussion), Ray Laidlaw (percussion), Chris Stout (fiddle, viola, piano), Catriona McKay (harp), Fraser Speirs (harmonica), Sandy Brechin (accordion), Finlay Macdonald (small and highland pipes, whistles), Kathleen MacInnes (vocals), Rab Noakes (vocals), Jim Jack (vocals) and Paul Savage (drums).

Land Of Gold was recorded, mixed and mastered at the legendary Chem 9 Studios in Blantyre by the amazing Paul Savage, who co-produced the album with Duncan and Cy. The process was ‘a joy from start to finish’.

Listen online

If you have an account with one of these other music sites, login to stream or download samples or full tracks.

Duncan McCrone - Land Of Gold at Apple Music

Duncan McCrone - Land Of Gold at Spotify

Duncan McCrone - Land Of Gold at Deezer

More Duncan McCrone

search Google for Duncan McCrone


We accept PayPal and all major credit and debit cards.

Monthly Newsletter

enter your email address:

You can easily unsubscribe here, or by using the link in any message, or by contacting us. Greentrax are clear and transparent about what data we collect from you, in line with GDPR guidelines. Read our Privacy Policy. By submitting this form you consent to Greentrax using your contact details to send monthly email updates on new releases and special offers. View all of our previous newsletters.

New Releases

Latest News

see all News





Top Sellers

all titles listed by release date

full catalogue listed by category

view or download full colour catalogue May 2021 (pdf)

view or download text catalogue March 2021 (pdf)

visit Greentrax on Facebook