Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2024: Celebrating Scotland's Music for 38 years

Ian Green: 1934-2024

cover image for Ceolbeg Collected
in stock
despatch same working day

​16 tracks: March, Strathspey and Reel * Farewell Tae The Haven * Arthur Gillies * See The People Run * Here’s A Health Tae The Sauters * Lord Galloway’s Lamentation * Johnnie Cope * Zito The Bubbleman * The Sleeping Tune * The Gaberlunzie Man * Mother Farquhar * Willie Wastle * Cantabrian Jig * Cairn Water * To Each And Every One Of You * Return Of The Bunny.


About our samples

If you have an account with one of these other music sites, login to stream or download more samples or full tracks.

Ceolbeg Collected at Apple Music

Ceolbeg Collected at Spotify

Ceolbeg Collected at Deezer

Ceolbeg Collected

“Both the band and myself are very proud of what this mainly part-time band achieved over the years. They were arguably one of the best and most exciting instrumental and vocal bands to join Greentrax - some of Scotland’s finest musicians have been members of Ceolbeg. In all Greentrax released five Ceolbeg albums, all to wide critical acclaim, and several tracks from their album An Unfair Dance were used in a David Bellamy TV series. The tracks here on Collected (released in 2013) were carefully chosen by band members and myself from the five albums. A stunning collection!”

(Managing Director Ian Green’s Pick Of The Month album, October 2021)

It is with considerable pride that Greentrax presents this collection of some of the highlights of the music of Ceolbeg. Both the band and Greentrax are very proud of what this mainly part-time band achieved over so many years, and the contribution they made to the music of Scotland over almost three decades. Ceolbeg is arguably the finest instrumental and vocal band to sign for Greentrax - away back in 1991.

The late Peter Boond was the only person who featured in every one of the band’s many line-ups, from its foundations in Dundee in the late 1970s, to the farewell concert in Edinburgh’s Queen’s Hall in 2003. It was Peter’s determination, his vision and his drive that kept the band moving forward through all those years, and he was immensely proud of that. Collected is therefore dedicated to Peter Boond (1953 to 2013).

Some of Scotland’s finest musicians have been members of Ceolbeg for varying lengths of time, including Katie Harrigan, Wendy Stewart, Davey Carmichael, Kenny Hadden, Mike Katz, Colin Matheson, Stuart Morison, Mike Travis, Andy Thorburn, Gary West, Jim Walker and Dave Whyte. The late Davy Steele joined Ceolbeg on lead vocals after the first album (pre-Greentrax era) and later Rod Paterson replaced him. One track from the first album is included on Collected, and fifteen tracks have been carefully chosen from the five Greentrax albums.

Ceolbeg toured at home and abroad, featured in many music festivals in the UK and beyond, and their music from the album An Unfair Dance was used for the soundtrack of David Bellamy’s TV series Crossing The Border.

The band was held in very high regard by many professional musicians and to emphasise the point, one Ceolbeg album was produced by Phil Cunningham and two by Dick Gaughan.

Davy Steele’s death was also a great loss to the Scottish music scene and in 2011 Greentrax released a tribute album when his widow Patsy Seddon invited singers and musicians who Davy had admired to contribute, and Steele The Show was born.

Collected is great value at sixteen tracks and 78 minutes playing time.

More Ceolbeg

search Google for Ceolbeg