Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2021: Celebrating Scotland's Music for 35 Years

See our £6 Stock Clearance titles, available for a limited time only.

cover image for Robin Laing - Edinburgh Skyline
Save £6.00 (50%)
in stock
despatch same working day

12 tracks: Edinburgh Skyline, Burke And Hare, Love Is Born, The Union Canal, Leaving Today, Icarus, Ulysses * Isle Of Eigg, Day by Day, Andrew Lammie, Spring Song, Passing Time.

Robin Laing, arguably one of the best singer-songwriters in Scotland, came to the notice of Greentrax via the Edinburgh Folk Club.

The late Hamish Henderson said of Robin:

“Auld Reekie (Edinburgh) is a veritable Janus of a city - its two faces, innocent and sinister, have fascinated many artists. Robin Laing is a conscious heir of this turbulent tradition and his songs are compelling evocations of the camsteerie city and its many moods…”

This was Robin’s first album but he now has several albums to his credit, including his ‘whisky’ series, but this album includes some of Robin’s early classics: Edinburgh Skyline, Burke and Hare, The Union Canal, Icarus, Isle of Eigg, Day By Day and Passing Time.

He was joined in Pier House Studios by Nick Keir (whistles, mandolin, guitar), Ron Shaw (cello), Jim Sutherland (percussion), Colin Ramage (backing vocals) plus Ross & Robin Li Laing (vocals on Day By Day).

The classy front cover was by Gavin Anderson.

“A showcase for his songs…”
(Herald & Post)

Listen online

If you have an account with one of these other music sites, login to stream or download samples or full tracks.

Robin Laing - Edinburgh Skyline at Apple Music

Robin Laing - Edinburgh Skyline at Spotify

Robin Laing - Edinburgh Skyline at Deezer

More Robin Laing

search Google for Robin Laing


We accept PayPal and all major credit and debit cards.

Monthly Newsletter

enter your email address:

You can easily unsubscribe here, or by using the link in any message, or by contacting us. Greentrax are clear and transparent about what data we collect from you, in line with GDPR guidelines. Read our Privacy Policy. By submitting this form you consent to Greentrax using your contact details to send monthly email updates on new releases and special offers. View all of our previous newsletters.

New Releases

Latest News

see all News





Top Sellers

all titles listed by release date

full catalogue listed by category

view or download full colour catalogue May 2021 (pdf)

view or download text catalogue March 2021 (pdf)

visit Greentrax on Facebook