Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2024: Celebrating Scotland's Music for 38 years

Ian Green: 1934-2024

cover image for Ewan Robertson - Some Kind Of Certainty
in stock
despatch same working day

10 tracks: One For The Ditch * Vincent Black Lightning * Scarecrow Song * Man of War * Gin I Were a Baron’s Heir * Ride Away * King of Rome * When I’m Gone * Doesn’t Get Better * Ship in Order.


About our samples

If you have an account with one of these other music sites, login to stream or download more samples or full tracks.

Ewan Robertson - Some Kind Of Certainty at Apple Music

Ewan Robertson - Some Kind Of Certainty at Spotify

Ewan Robertson - Some Kind Of Certainty at Deezer

Ewan Robertson - Some Kind Of Certainty

The debut solo album from Ewan Robertson, a talented singer and guitarist and a member of Breabach.

Ewan was accepted into the National Centre Of Excellence For Traditional Music in 2000, where he studied fiddle and pipes. A shortage of accompanists at the school led Ewan to experiment with the guitar, which he continued to play whilst he was enrolled for a degree in Outdoor Education in Glasgow. There, he used the vibrant session scene to develop a driving style of guitar accompaniment. Ewan graduated with First Class Honours in 2005 and helped start the group Breabach, who won a Danny Kyle Award at Celtic Connections that year.

In 2008 Ewan Robertson became the first singer/guitarist to win the BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician Of The Year award, which included a solo recording deal with Greentrax Recordings.

There are two traditional songs on the album - Gin I Were A Baron’s Heir and Ship In Order - but others are contemporary works, including Vincent Black Lightning (Richard Thompson), When I’m Gone (Phil Ochs), The King Of Rome (Dave Sudbury) and Scarecrow Song (James Grant).

Ewan hails from Carrbridge in Strathspey, and when not on the road playing music he works as a part-time firefighter in Carrbridge (he has many an exciting tale to tell about that) - this album has been long in the making, but has been slowly maturing like a good malt whisky from Speyside!

Ewan Robertson (vocals, guitar) with Angus Lyon (piano, Hammond organ, Fender Rhodes, accordion, vocals), Ewan MacPherson (guitar, mandolin, banjo, jaws harp, vocals), Rick Taylor (trombone, vocals), Patsy Reid (fiddle, viola, cello), Alan Train (pedal steel guitar), Donald Hay (drums, percussion), James Lindsay (double bass) and Emily Smith (backing vocals).

More Ewan Robertson

search Google for Ewan Robertson