Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2023: Celebrating Scotland's Music for 37 years

See our £6 Stock Clearance CDs.

cover image for Dick Gaughan - Sail On
Save £2.00 (17%)
in stock
despatch same working day

special offer Christmas & New Year Special Offer - SAVE 16% on ANY THREE OR MORE ITEMS in one order - that's £1.92 off every standard CD.
Applies to all products except special offer and stock clearance titles. Offer ends January 6th 2024. Free postage within UK, international postage charges apply.

11 tracks: Land Of The North Wind * Son Of Man * Ruby Tuesday * Waist Deep In The Big Muddy * No Cause For Alarm * The 51st (Highland) Division’s Farewell To Sicily * No Gods And Precious Few Heroes * Geronimo’s Cadillac * 1952 Vincent * Black Lightning * Sail On * The Freedom Come-All-Ye.


About our samples

If you have an account with one of these other music sites, login to stream or download more samples or full tracks.

Dick Gaughan - Sail On at Apple Music

Dick Gaughan - Sail On at Spotify

Dick Gaughan - Sail On at Deezer

Dick Gaughan - Sail On

When Dick Gaughan signed to Greentrax in 1996, MD Ian Green was over the moon. They had been friends for years, since Ian’s involvement in the Police Folk Club (Fuzzfolk), and when Greentrax was launched in 1986, Dick was at the top of Ian’s ‘wants list’.

Dick stayed with Greentrax and released several albums with the label. He is of course one of the most highly regarded folksingers and guitarists in the UK and, in addition to his early Handful Of Earth album, received Melody Maker’s Folk Album of The Year Award in 1981.

Dick went on to be inducted into the Scots Trad Music Hall of Fame in 2009, while later the same year he received a Lifetime Achievement Award at BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards.

Dick has had a long and very successful solo career but has also been a member of some top bands: The Boys Of The Lough, Five Hand Reel and the shorter-lived but quite unique Clan Alba.

Sail On is a stunning album with every song a winner, although the inclusion of the late Hamish Henderson’s The Freedom Come All Ye proves to be an amazing finisher and Land Of The North Wind a stunning opener.

Session musicians include Mary MacMaster & Patsy Seddon (Sileas), Kathy Stewart, Tich Frier, Davy Steele, Bobby Eaglesham, Fred Morrison and Mike Travis.

This is a very special album by a very special artist.

More Dick Gaughan

search Google for Dick Gaughan