Greentrax Recordings

read this newsletter in a browser

visit to order

June 2019 Release

Malinky - Handsel CD cover

Malinky - Handsel

A double CD for the price of one CD.

CD1 consists of new studio recordings by the current Malinky line-up of Steve Byrne, Mark Dunlop, Fiona Hunter and Mike Vass, with guest singers Ellie Beaton, Barbara Dymock, Len Graham, Cameron Nixon, Hector Riddell and Dáibhidh Stiùbhard. Euan Burton guests on double bass. Provides a remarkable variety of singing styles by outstanding guest vocalists plus, of course, the band’s three vocalists.

CD2 is a collection of selected tracks from the band’s previous albums plus some demo and live tracks. Includes Karine Polwart in the early Malinky line-up. Includes examples of the changing Malinky line-ups over the years. Always instrumentally very strong, the fiddle of Mike Vass added a new dimension to the band.

This is quite a unique collection of songs and music which marks Malinky’s welcome return to the folk/music scene after a few years absence.

PRE-ORDER for despatch as soon as available

May 2019 Release

Alexander McCall Smith and James Ross CD cover

Alexander McCall Smith and James Ross - These Are The Hands

An exciting album of new songs and music - words by Alexander McCall Smith, one of the world’s most popular and prolific authors and a poet, and James Ross, who is earning a growing reputation as a composer of music that pushes the boundaries of Scottish traditional music. James Ross plays piano and Alexander McCall Smith narrates.

The songs are performed by Michelle Burke, who was the lead singer with Irish-American music group Cherish The Ladies, and the gorgeous, peat-smoked tone of Kathleen MacInnes, a Gaelic singer from South Uist of international acclaim, who has been part of Transatlantic Sessions and featured in Ridley Scott’s film Robin Hood.

Session musicians include: Su-a-Lee (cello), Patsy Reid (fiddle), Leo Forde (guitar), Angus Lyon (accordion), Liam Bradley (percussion) and John Kenny (trombone).

NOW IN STOCK for immediate despatch

Deletions, Overstocks & Limited Supply titles from £6.00

Rua MacMillan - Tyro CD cover

We still have titles available at special prices for a limited time only. Artists and compilation albums include:

Our bestselling Far, Far From Ypres CD & DVD titles are still available as a Special Offer set for £25.00

see deletion offer titles - £6.00

see overstock offer titles - £6.00

see limited supply offer titles - £10.00

Our Top Titles

cover image for Celtic Airs And Reflective Melodies (Celtic Collections vol 15)

our Top 20 Best Sellers in 2018

Featuring albums from Duncan McCrone, AC Weir, Nick Keir, The McCalmans, Tony McManus, Barbara Dickson, Rura, Robin Laing, Daimh, Kathleen MacInnes and Eric Bogle.

Bestselling compilations or project albums included Far, Far From Ypres, Scotland's Voices, Greentrax 30th Anniversary Collection, Celtic Airs And Reflective Melodies, Celtic Women From Scotland, Sandy Bell’s Ceilidh and A Highland Journey.

Our All Time Top 20 list includes albums from Fiddlers' Bid, Donnie Munro, Gordon Duncan, Salsa Celtica, Dick Gaughan, Shooglenifty, Peatbog Faeries, Catherine-Ann MacPhee and Aly Bain.

Ian Green & The Greentrax Team

Order online at using your credit/debit card or your PayPal account.

Call us on: 01875 814 155 (UK)

Download the Greentrax full colour catalogue (pdf) showing releases to July 2018. We also provide a text-based catalogue (pdf).

Our transactions are processed by trusted services WorldPay and PayPal. You've previously subscribed through our website or directly with us.

Visit us on Facebook - your feedback is welcome. Please comment or drop us an email:

Greentrax Recordings Ltd, Cockenzie Business Centre, Edinburgh Road, Cockenzie, East Lothian EH32 0XL Scotland, UK